The purpose of UNIcert®️ is to ensure the quality of language training and testing at institutions of higher education. However, the focus of UNIcert®️ is on empowering the learner to act in a foreign language in the context of academic study and professions.


UNIcert® refers to language training for higher education purposes. The aim of the UNIcert® system is to ensure comparable and equivalent language training across institutions of higher education. For this reasons, institutions of higher education are not permanently accredited for UNIcert®; instead, the accreditation is granted for a limited period of five years only. Following this 5-year period, the accreditation must be re-evaluated and re-granted to ensure that the quality of the language training maintains a consistently high standard.

The UNIcert® network allows students to seamlessly continue their foreign-language training at another university provided this university offers the desired language and proficiency level based on a UNIcert® accreditation.

The UNIcert® system comprises 5 proficiency levels that are aligned with the Common European Framework of References for Languages of the European Council:

  • UNIcert® Basis aligns with A2
  • UNIcert® I aligns with B1
  • UNIcert® II / UNIcert® II heritage languages align with B2
  • UNIcert® III aligns with C1
  • UNIcert® IV aligns with C2


Since 2018, continuous language training is not only possible at UNIcert®-accredited universities but via NULTE, the Network of University Language Testers in Europe as well, in addition to UNIcert®LUCE (Slovakia and the Czech Republic), Acert (Poland), CertAcles® (Spain), CLES (France) and UNILANG (the United Kingdom).

Members of NULTE and UNIcert® (opens in new tab)